MiniPiio DIO16 v0.10

** UPDATE: You can get these boards at tindie.com in the DTronixs store

The third and final board we built from the batch of PCB’s we received on Friday was the MiniPiio_DIO16.

The MiniPiio_DIO16 is a 16-channel digital input/output add-on card for the Raspberry Pi. The board can use either a Microchip MCP23s17 (SPI) or a MCp23017 (I2C) Port Expander IC.

The choice of chip is done by jumper headers on the PCB. In addition the I2C and SPI address is also selectable by jumper headers. Finally, the choice of SPI Chip Select (SPI_CE0 or SPI_CE1) can ne made via a jumper header. By my reckoning thats 7 jumper headers.

The I/O ports from the chis are brought out to two pin strips. As well as I/O each pin strip has a ground, while one has a fused 5V supply and the other a non-fused 3.3V supply.

The schematics are here

17 Responses to MiniPiio DIO16 v0.10

  1. Ben says:

    That look very good, would I be able to get hold of the pcb?
    Thanks
    Ben

  2. kurt says:

    I could use this board. Where can i buy it?

  3. Antonio Brito says:

    This product have a interrupt pin?

    • zuzebox says:

      While the MCP23017/23S17 does have two interrupt pins, I’ve not brought them out to the pin headers on this version. I’ll revise the PCB make them accessible.

  4. […] MiniPiio DIO16 v0.10 ต่อขยาย I/O เพิ่ม โดยใช้ I2C หรือ SPI จาก Pi แล้วแต่ว่าจะใช้ MCP23S17 ซึ่งเป็น SPI หรือ MCP23017 ซึ่งเป็น I2C […]

  5. manuel says:

    Ive got a question. is there any chance (maybe with your board) to input a 36000 Hz signal to the raspberry in order to interpret an engines rpm signal? i want to visualize my cars rpms with a raspberry. 🙂 would be very nice if you could answer this via email
    thank you! 🙂

    • zuzebox says:

      I think the Pi itself would struggle to handle 36Khz inputs directly. You could use an external chip such as a microcontroller (AVR or PIC) or a counter timer peripheral. An Arduino would be a good thing to use to capture the 36KHz signals, then using a serial interface (UART/I2C/SPI), transmit the value to the Pi.

  6. idem2lyon says:

    Do you have example code for using MCP23017 with a ULN2803?

  7. […] MiniPiio DIO16 v0.10 ต่อขยาย I/O เพิ่ม โดยใช้ I2C หรือ SPI จาก Pi แล้วแต่ว่าจะใช้ MCP23S17 ซึ่งเป็น SPI หรือ MCP23017 ซึ่งเป็น I2C […]

  8. dancri says:

    Can someone please list all the components that have to be purchased separately to build this board?

Leave a comment