MAX7456 OSD Shield (v0.1)

Here’s a beta release of a On Screen Display (OSD) shield I’ve been working on, it still needs a bit tiding up.

It uses a MAX7456 from Maxim for the video overlay function. The MAX7456 is connected to the Ardunio’s SPI port (MOSI, MISO and CLK) and a double row of 0.1 headers can be used to choose which digital pin drives chip select (CS) for the MAX7456.

In addition to the MAX7456 OSD chip, there’s also a DS1307 Real Time Clock (RTC) with battery backup for displaying time and date in the video feed.

I designed it using DesignSpark PCB, pulling in the MAX7456 footprint from the Sparkfun PCB library. I’ll post design files and gerbers shortly.

For software, I used code from Arduino forum members dfraser and zitron in this Arduino forum post.


osd – Arkwork.pdf
osd – Schematic.pdf

2 Responses to MAX7456 OSD Shield (v0.1)

  1. Cesar says:

    Hello, so, did it work? I’m asking because I bought that MAX7456 shield but it is getting pretty hard to make it work.

    • zuzebox says:

      Hi, a blast from the past 🙂

      To be honest I never finished the design as I moved on to other things. Have you tried the MAX7456 breakout board from Sparkfun?

Leave a comment