Zuzebox v0.30 – an update

It’s taken me longer than I hoped to make this small update to Zuzebox (an Uzebox compatible retro-minimalist gaming console). What I’ve done with this update is to actually simplify the design by removing the surface mount components for the USB circuit. I still intend to have the USB interface but I’ve decided to use a plug in USB module instead of a surface mount chip.

The idea is to keep the electronics as simple as possible and to add functionality such as a USB or a Ethernet interface through plug in modules. I’ve updated the schematic to use Sparkfun’s USB module shown below:

Sparkfuns USB Module

I may added another USB module footprint in the future, possibly a FTDI module.

The updated Zuzebox v0.30 schematic (pdf) is here.

Leave a Reply

