RS232 Breakout Board (v0.20) for Raspberry-Pi

I found some time to finish of the design for the Raspbery Pi RS232 brakout board. I followed Frank Buss’s advice on the RPi forum and added a 3.3V regulator to give more current to the 3.3V for the prototyping area.

Schematics are here.

I’ve a couple more breakout boards in the works:

RPi_ProtoBoard – A basic prototyping board with a 3.3V regulator. The 3.3V regulator can be powered from an internal (i.e RPi 5V) or external (9V-12V PSU wall adapter) power source.

RPi_XBee – A XBee breakout board with on board power regulator and small prototyping area.

** UPDATE: The first PCB’s have arrived see here and heres the first built board **

17 Responses to RS232 Breakout Board (v0.20) for Raspberry-Pi

  1. Hi, Where can I buy these from? Or can I get the drawings to get my own PCBs made up?

  2. Martijn Brunott says:

    I’m also keen on one of these. How’d the tests fair ? Will they be up for sale soon ?

    • zuzebox says:

      Hi Martin
      I’m getting some boards made as we speak of this board and a couple of other designs. So it should be a couple of weeks to get them back. I’ve changed to PCB size to make them smaller and cheaper to make.

  3. Mitch says:

    This is pretty cool, taking serial devices technology of RS232 and incorporating. I will be following for updates,

  4. Andrew says:

    I’m also interested.How can I buy it?

    • zuzebox says:

      We’ve got our second shipment of PCB’s coming, due to arrive at the end of the month.

      At the moment we’re planning on offering it as a blank PCB and a self assembled kit. We’ll update everyone once the shipment has arrived

  5. Steve says:

    are these for sale?

  6. Marco says:

    Partco does not deliver outside Finland. And nobody else seems to sell them. I would like to buy a few minipiio’s very much. How?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

